Tuesday, January 23rd, 2018

NCAA Womens Volleyball: And Then There Were 64

Published on November 29, 2010 by   ·   3 Comments

The 64 teams that will be battling it out for the NCAA Division I Championship were announced yesterday on ESPNews. That’s right volleyball fans, the 2010 Women’s Volleyball Bracket is finally¬† here. ohio state buckeyes volleyball

Automatic Tournament Bids

A total of 31 teams earned automatic bids into the tournament by winning their conference titles last weekend. This list includes consistent favorites like Penn State (Big 10), Nebraska (Big 12),  and Florida (Southeastern Conference).  Scroll down to the end of this post for a complete list of the 31 teams that received automatic bids.

At Large Bids Cause Some Controversey

There’s been some speculation about the validity of having the Big Ten conference fielding 8 teams in the bracket this season (conference champs Penn State along with Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio State, Northwestern and Purdue) while the traditional powerhouse the Pac-10 received only 6 total bids (conference champs California along with Arizona, USC, Stanford, UCLA and Washington).

Oregon’s absence from the Pac-10 at-large bids in particular has created some disquiet among fans, but the chair of the selection committee state that when choosing at-large teams the committee “reviews the selection criteria, which includes head-to-head, win/loss, common opponents, results of the RPI and input from regional advisory committees.” Full answers are available on the NCAA blog.

NCAA Tournament Schedule

The first round of the 2010 tournament begins on Thursday, December 2 and continues the following day. The second round will follow immediately, taking place on Saturday, December 4.

If you live in Gainesville, FL, Lafayette, IN, Austin, TX, Champaign, IL, Cedar Falls, IA, Durham, NC, Norman, OK, University Park, PA, Standford, CA, Dayton, OH, Bloomington, IN, Los Angeles, CA, Berkley, CA, Minneapolis, MN, Seattle, WA or Lincoln, NE you can see the first and second rounds of the tournament in your own backyard.

The third rounds and quarterfinals will take place in Austin, Dayton, University Park, and Seattle, with the finals in Kansas City, MO. You can see all of the tournament action live on webcasts, and the semifinals and finals will all be broadcast on ESPN2 HD. Semifinals will be on December 16, and the final will take place on December 18.

Find out the results of the first and second rounds of play next week on Volleyball-life.com!

31 Teams with Automatic NCAA Tournament Spots:

(complete listing available here)

America East Conference: Albany
Atlantic Coast Conference: Duke (regular-season champion)
Atlantic Sun Conference: Lipscomb
Atlantic 10 Conference: Dayton
Big 12: Nebraska (regular-season champion)
Big East Conference: Louisville
Big South Conference: High Point
Big Sky Conference: Portland State
Big Ten: Penn State (regular-season champion)
Big West: Cal State Fullerton (regular-season champion)
Colonial Athletic Association: Delaware
Conference USA: Tulsa (regular-season champion)
Horizon League: Butler
Ivy League: Penn (regular-season champion)
Mid-American Conference: Ohio
Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference: South Carolina State
Missouri Valley Conference: Northern Iowa
Metro-Atlantic Athletic Conference: Niagara
Mountain West Conference: Colorado State (regular-season champion)
Northeastern Conference: Sacred Heart
Ohio Valley Conference: Austin Peay
Pacific 10 Conference: California (regular-season champion)
Patriot League: American
Southern Conference: Georgia Southern
Southeastern Conference: Florida (regular-season champion)
Southland Conference: UTSA
Southwestern Athletic Conference: Alabama A&M
Summit League: North Dakota State
Sun Belt Conference: Middle Tennessee State
Western Athletic Conference: Utah State
West Coast Conference: San Diego (regular-season champion)

Photo by Jay LaPreta.

Be Sociable, Share!

Tags: , ,

Readers Comments (3)

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by shawna walker, Sports Page Network. Sports Page Network said: NCAA Womens Volleyball: And Then There Were 64: The 64 teams that will be battling it out for the NCAA Division … http://bit.ly/etb9II […]

  2. James Knox says:

    Just wanted to know if the NCAA conferences all-time NCAA tournament win-loss records are recorded anyway for DI and DII women’s volleyball.

  3. […] how did we get from 64 teams to four? Check out my posts from the past two weeks for recaps on the original 64 teams and the sweet 16. Since then we saw No. 3 Stanford fall to USC in a fifth-set that ended at 16-14 […]

Recent Posts

Volleyball Life Is a Proud Member of: